

Joint Area Committee - West – 15th July 2009

11. Area West Working Groups and Sub-Committees - Appointment of Members 2009/10 (Executive Decision)

Head of Service:Andrew Gillespie, Head of Area Development (West)Lead Officer:Andrew Blackburn, Committee AdministratorContact Details:andrew.blackburn@southsomerset.gov.uk or (01460) 260441

Purpose of the Report

As the Council has entered a new municipal year the Committee is asked to review the appointment of members to various working groups.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Committee reviews the appointment of members on the following groups:-

(a) Crewkerne and Area Community Office - Board Representation

The Crewkerne and Area Community Office Board maintains a watching brief over the Community Office. The Board (from April 2009) is made up of one officer and one member from the Crewkerne Town and South Somerset District Councils.

The previous representative for the District Council was Cllr. Angle Singleton.

(b) Area West Community Safety Action Panel

The Area West Community Safety Action Panel is made up of people who work or live in the area and have an interest in tackling community safety issues. Membership includes representatives from the Police, Youth Service, Primary Care Trust and the District Council.

The previous representative for the District Council was Cllr. Dan Shortland.

(c) Area West Community Forum Sub-Committees

The Community Forum Sub-Committees were established to oversee the delivery of community forums (opportunity events) in the Chard, Crewkerne and Ilminster areas and to authorise spending of the budget allocated to each forum. The previous representatives were as follows:-

(1) Chard

David Bulmer Nigel Mermagen Robin Munday Ros Roderigo Dan Shortland Jenny Kenton Andrew Turpin Martin Wale Paul Buchanan (Observer Status) Tony Shire (Observer Status) Jill Shortland (Observer Status)

(2) Crewkerne

Simon Bending Mike Best Geoff Clarke Robin Munday Ric Pallister Angie Singleton

(3) Ilminster

Nicci Court Robin Munday Kim Turner Linda Vijeh

Background Papers: None.